The Maillard Reaction
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 31918
2014/07/06 15:04:13 (permalink)

post edited by mister happy - 2018/02/26 13:25:33

michaelhanson
Max Output Level: -40 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3529
Re: More guitar making stuff... 2014/07/06 19:25:17 (permalink)
Very interesting info on how you build pickups, Michael.  They look really nice.  I like the beveled pole pieces, in the way they look, just a little better, but probably only because that is the way I am used to seeing them.  Functionally, like you say, makes no difference.  Interesting about the different types of wiring used.  I read some where, and please correct me if I am wrong, for I am just learning, but that Alinco 2's give you just a little more treble brightness and Alnico 5 is a little more tamed in the treble and has clearer definition???  I saw were some builders where going with Alnico 3 to get some where, kind of in the middle?  When I get closer to actually replacing pickups, I will PM you with some questions.

I changed out my tuners last week to Fender Vintage Style tuners. I was trying to decide if I wanted to go with sealed Grotch or Grover type, but in the end, decided that I didn't want to drill out the peg holes to 10mm on the head stock.  The Vintage are installed and work great.  Now I am trying to decide where I go next.....after I save up some more spare cash.  It's either going to be in the direction of a new solid block bridge, or in the pick guard and pickup assembly.  I need to take the pick guard off yet and look to see what I am starting with.  I was advised that if it had the small dime sized, el cheepo pots in the guitar, a simple pots and caps upgrade "might" dramatically improve the tone.  I am torn because if I end up doing a pots and electronics upgrade, I would prefer to just load up a completely separate pick guard with the electronics and pick ups, so that I could easily change the guitar back if I chose to someday sell it.

Mike