Reclaiming SATA for audio

Page: 12345.. > >> Showing page 1 of 26
Author
losguy
Max Output Level: -20 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5506
2004/01/27 02:10:53 (permalink)

Reclaiming SATA for audio

I apologize up front for such a long post, but it covers a fairly deep topic which requires a lot of explanation. I did my best to make a long story short wherever I could, and placed links for deeper reading elsewhere. Still, it's definitely not the shortest post in the world, not by a long shot!

I have had some good success recently solving a thorny problem with clicks and pops while using SATA drives for audio. You'll find the gory details of my saga posted here, but I'm posting the "short" story here because:

• I am a fellow SONAR 3 Pro user
  • Other posts in this forum greatly helped to identify the true nature of the problem, and thus, a workable solution
  • Perhaps this post could help others in a similar predicament to dust off their SATA drives and reinstate them to useful audio service (which would be gratifying for me to know).

My configuration is as follows:
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe, Athlon XP 2500+, 1GB RAM Dual-Channel
Enabled onboard peripherals: nVidia LAN, nVidia audio (for system sounds), Firewire, USB (all)
ATI RADEON 9000 Dual-Head
Seagate 80G PATA System Drive
2X Seagate 80G SATA RAID 0 Audio drives
Terratec EWS88D, connected via ADAT to...
...Fostex VM200 Digital Mixer

After some fussing, I have successfully managed to take this system from a glitchy nightmare (even with a measly two tracks) to being able to simultaneously monitor 36 tracks, evenly split through all eight outputs on the soundcard, all while recording on all eight soundcard inputs to eight more tracks, and all without a single glitch!!

Here is the recipe that worked for me (and maybe could work for you):