Helpful ReplyLockedCakewalk Announcement

Page: << < ..56575859 > Showing page 56 of 59
Author
Jim Kalinowski
Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 296
Re: Cakewalk Announcement 2018/01/09 17:40:15 (permalink)
My 2 cents on a few things, and I think these are a reasonable 2 cents because 1) I develop software for a living and 2) I went through a similar situation several years ago where the company I worked for was shutdown by the parent company.  Again, these are all my opinion based on past experience.

1. The transition stuff going on at Cakewalk will take a LOT longer than most people think.  In my previous experience, it took nearly 6 months to transition the company.

2. No one on the Cakewalk transition team is developing any code.  Gibson isn't paying them to do that.  Instead, they are trying to prepare products to be sold.  Maybe even prepare the company (or what's left of it) to be sold.  Since there's only a few people left, for a transition to be successful Cakewalk/Gibson needs to be able to convince a company that the code is worth buying and that the new owner's can get a return on investment.  For software, a new owner will probably want to a couple of product experts to come along with the code.  That was what happened in my past experience (and none of us took the offer from the new company).

3. If the day comes when the servers get shutdown, Cakewalk will just email us a master authorization code.  I suspect SONAR has always had the ability to work with a master code.  That approach makes it a lot easier on the developers as they move to new computers for testing.

Again, these are just my opinion/guesses.

I used the Adaptive Limiter for the first time the other night.  Wow, that thing rocks!  Can't believe we got that for free.  Cake should have been charging for that and some other stuff.

As a hobbyist, I'm sticking with SONAR until I can't.  If I was doing this professionally, I'd move on.